Leaked document reveals T-Mobile will remove a feature from account settings

t-mobile-removing-short-code-feature

T-Mobile will be making an important change to its “Block All/Blacklist All Short Codes” account setting. This was revealed in a report with a leaked document of the announcement. 

According to the leaked document, T-Mo intends to stop offering the feature on August 18. Right now, there are 1.5 million customers who have the feature installed in their accounts. T-Mo promises that these will be removed on existing customer accounts between August 31 and September 2. 

T-Mobile’s decision to remove the feature is because it causes more issues than it can resolve. The Un-Carrier reported that they frequently receive calls from customers who ask why they aren’t receiving any 2FA texts and info messages from businesses. And this is pretty frustrating, especially to customers who rely on receiving such texts from important services they signed up for– like their bank. 

By removing the feature, T-Mo hopes that it will reduce the number of support calls it regularly receives related to the issue. The wireless carrier also hopes that it will fix the issue. 

In its place, T-Mo will continue providing selective blocking. This means that individual short code numbers may still be blocked even after the feature has been removed. 

If you are one of the affected customers, you should expect to receive a text informing you of the change soon. 

 

Source: 1

Tags:

  • steadymobb

    Heh. I just had to have them do this for me last week.

  • Shaun Michalak

    Is this something that is turned on by default, or is this a feature that they had to turn on?? I am just wondering, because if the person turned it on, and then complained that they could not get any messages.. Well, they seem to be not thinking very clearly to me.. but if it is on by default.. Then I could see how people would miss it..

    • dl_crash

      Definitely not turned on by default. Guess you have never worked in customer care. Across multiple industries over half the calls I’ve seen are things customers changed, asked to be changed, or things they could have easily resolved their self. #jobsecurity

      • Shaun Michalak

        Computer tech here.. But saying that, there are things that I have seen that were changed to on by default, without the user consent.. For example, look at the windows OS from MS.. When i do updates on the computers, I turn automatic update off so I can do it in phases.. I have seen too many times that doing too many updates at once will crash the whole update part, and none of the updates will install.. But do certain updates, and it will turn automatic updates on without you having a choice..

        Cell phones can be the same.. When they came out with that scam protect, I could do nothing to turn that off on my end from my phone.. My mom, on the same account, was getting blocked from calling my cell phone, on the same account plan, and I had to call up to have them manually exclude my phone number from the list to stop the scam protection so that my mom could call me.. If it was something that I could turn on and off, then the company would not have had to do it from their end..

        But I agree.. Most of the time it is user error.. and while no, I have not worked customer care.. I have worked as a computer tech.. and as an inspection mechanic on cars.. and I know how much stuff I have seem that people have done in both of those fields, so it does not surprise me.